Finding the time

I was never a particularly sporty or active child. My get fit journey is a relatively new thing, born out of wanting to be able to inspire my own children to be more active than I was and to be fit enough to join in.

One thing I’ve learned over the last few years is that, although as parents we have an awful lot going on, time doesn’t need to be the thing that stops you getting in shape.

Here are three things I’ve discovered by doing the opposite and failing horribly.

Exercise doesn’t have to be time consuming, costly or complicated.
If all you have is 15 minutes then that is fine. Is it ideal, no. But if it is more than you did yesterday, and you make those minutes count, then you are well on your way.

You probably spend time doing things you don’t really need to that you could spend on your health instead.
Quick pop quiz:
Do you watch TOWIE, Made in Chelsea or Geordie Shore
Do you watch Strictly, X Factor or I’m a celebrity
Do you watch any soaps

If you answer yes to any of these, you can make the time. In five years time will you give a shit about who won this year’s X Factor? Will you even remember their name? Probably not. You could even do some exercise in front of the tele if it really means that much – try alternating sets of push ups and squats in every as break.

Work out what kind of time you can free up and plan around that
Can you free up lots of little bits of time or a couple of big chunks? I’m a little and often man personally. I have about 45mins most days between the children going to bed and dinner so that’s the time I use. You might be the opposite. The point is to fit exercise around the time you have, not try to get to a class you’ll never make because of ‘life’.

This isn’t just an exercise thing. This year we had our third child and my wife managed to write a book at the same time. This amazes me as some days I feel like I’ve barely got enough time to breath. She did it by sacrificing a couple of hours sleep most nights – she would get up at 4 or 5am after F’s last feed and write. This is pretty extreme but she did it because the book was that important to her, more important than the sleep. The result is the book is now published (get it here!).

My point here is, if a breastfeeding mum of three can give up hours of sleep for something that matters to her, you can find a chunk of time here and there to do some exercise.

How about you? Do you feel like you can fit it all in? Any tips for others that struggle?

Have you bought Reneé’s book yet? Why not! Do it, do it do it 😉

Linking up
image

Papa_Tont
20 thoughts on “Finding the time

  1. Very true. I think that a bit of exercise every day is very good for body and mind but soo hard to figure out how to fit it in! I bought Davina’s fit in 15 mins dvd which is aimed at busy parents, perfect! Also a 30 min run on the weekend with childcare is amazing for the brain!

  2. I think it’s really important that kids see their parents being active. I try to run a couple of times a week, but my favourite exercise is a ‘fitness walk’ which my daughter and I both do. We walk a couple of miles briskly and it’s a great time for us to chat about the day. #pocolo

    • Yes! I totally agree. There’s a great playpark / outdoor gym near us which I love taking them too. We play, I muck about on the parallel bars, they join in – it’s great to share it with them. #PoCoLo

  3. I agree completely, I don’t know how but between 6 kids and running a business and blog I still find the time to pop out a couple of days a week for a bike ride because I feel it’s an important thing to do. You’re right in it motivating the kids do, the more I do, the more they’re keen to do. #PoCoLo

    • Six! I thought we had a house full at three. Motivating the kids is one of the main reasons I do it. My wife is doing a great job teaching them about food so I’m trying to do my bit to build good habits in them too.

  4. You’re right, of course. Of those three, I do watch Strictly, but I’ll be reading at the same time – not sure I can sacrifice reading time?! In all seriousness, I think most people could find 15 minutes, it’s about wanting to do so and committing to do so, isn’t it?

  5. Great post! I think if you REALLY want to do it then you will make time. I started to get up at 6.30am before the rest of the house are and use our treadmill in the garage but if I miss out on that then I know that I can walk Grace to school and then walk home again – up a rather large hill! Thank you for linking to #PoCoLo 🙂

  6. So very true, Andy. I’ve been terrible in the seven years since our first was born, making countless excuses for why I can’t exercise more. I will definitely have to get off my backside and do something about it. Pathetic, really, when I put it in writing. Hopefully I’ll shame myself into doing something. The best reason I have – better even perhaps than doing it for myself – is that my kids are now at an age where I need to set a better example for them. Now where did I put my trainers?

    • That’s one of my biggest reasons for staying committed to regular exercise. It’d be tough to convince them to do it if I don’t do the same. Plus they start getting faster and harder to keep up with!

  7. Great post – so true that we will make time for the things we really want to do. I know I need to exercise more but have to confess that I don’t have the motivation to find time – although running around after two little ones keeps me active! I am in awe of how Renee managed to write her book whilst juggling life with three children (and yes I have bought it and found it very inspirational and encouraging)

    • No doubt dealing with the little people can be hard work. I spend my work week sat at a desk so have a bit more inactivity to ‘undo’.

      So glad you enjoyed Renee’s book. It has brilliant to see so many people read and enjoy it – there’s a lot of soul in those pages.

  8. Firstly, fantastic post. Everyone has the time, it’s just how we use it that counts. So many people, me included live in denial about time and too often we say, “I didn’t have the time.” When in reality we should say, “I didn’t make the time.” Secondly, I had no idea you were married to the fabulous Mummy Tries, you learn something new every day. Thanks for linking up to #FitFamilyFriday, this week will be the last week I host, so remember to go to @costyy2k’s page next time.

Leave a Reply

