What do I mean by healthy inspiration?

It’s been a couple of weeks since I brought this blog back to life and I figured it would be worth explaining exactly what I mean by the “healthy inspiration” in this site’s tagline.

If you had stumbled across this blog a few years ago* then you could be forgiven in thinking I only cared about the physical side of health, which is actually very far from the truth. That is part of the reason I’ve started writing again, to change the content of my little bit of internet from fitness bore to a better, more well rounded, view of what I actually think.

Yes, I think healthy bodies are important, but no more so than healthy minds (no less so either).

So what does that look like?

Healthy bodies:

  • To make physical exercise a welcome and enjoyed part of daily life.
  • To desire and enjoy a diet made up predominantly of real foods.**
  • To be able to recognise real foods and prepare a variety of meals made from them.

Healthy minds:

  • To have an open mind, accept and listen to ideas different from your own.
  • To take life and the challenges in it no more seriously than is strictly necessary.
  • To treat others that share this world with decency and respect.
  • To know that fueling your body with good food is important but not worth obsessing about. A life without occasional pizza and cake is a sad one.
  • Most importantly, to laugh a lot.

* A quick review of my visitor stats suggests this is highly unlikely but I thought I’d mention it anyway.
** Basically just plants and animals.

Linking up:

http://www.letstalkmommy.com/2014/10/share-with-me-wk-38/

#FitFamilyFriday
6 thoughts on “What do I mean by healthy inspiration?

  1. This is exactly what we have done over the last couple of weeks. I have been having juice and soups – all vegetables and soup – I have had had no meat, dairy or carbs for nearly two weeks now and I am feeling SO much better. A healthy body means a healthy mind. Good luck with yours 🙂

  2. A healthy body definitely means a healthier mind and I am trying to set this out in my new way of living a healthier life. This is great. Thank you so much for linking up to Share With Me. I hope to see you again soon. #sharewithme

  3. Brilliant post, a healthy body as said many times, does equal a healthy mind, but what interests me having read a few blog posts now on the issue, is what constitutes health. For instance, one comment here suggesting that not eating any meat or dairy has helped lead to a better feeling, but nutritionally this is massively restrictive and needs to be compensated for in other parts of the diet. Other blogs using the term “detoxing” but then taking in nothing that benefits the liver and kidneys, the natural detoxers of the body. Another one is the promotion of processed junk food, because it is low in fat or gluten free, a very dangerous concept indeed. What is healthy for one, is most definitely not going to be healthy for another person. We all have our own individual nutritional needs that go far deeper than macronutrients, our micronutrients play a much more important part and must not be neglected and there is no one dietary routine that fits all of our requirements. One person who eats a vegetarian diet may be as healthy as can be, but that doesn’t mean you can’t achieve it doing a vegan diet, or a paleo diet, or any other buzz term diet you can come up with, it just makes it that much harder to be balanced. My biggest concern is the number of people concerned about losing “weight”. The priority on weight is concerning because a lot of the fad weight loss diets out there will lead to increased visceral and subcutaneous fat, but indeed reduced weight. Once people are brave enough to say that they would like to lose weight, but that weight needs to be fat in the first instance, then they will be able to tailor their needs accordingly.

    In 8 very brief points, you have managed to sum up an ideal way of living and certainly something I am striving to achieve as well. Good luck in achieving them, I’m with you all the way, I may stumble and fall, but I will keep trying. All the best and thanks for linking up. #FitFamilyFriday

    • Thanks for the comment. I completely agree with you, the ideal diet is pretty personal and based to a large extent on what you do. I do a reasonable amount of exercise and seen to run best on some, but not a lot of, carbs. With the carbs on the low side and the activity on the high-ish side my meat intake is also pretty high. It has to be, I’d wither away otherwise.

      I think you’re bang on about weight loss. Most people’s motivation to lose weight is their appearance. The thing that’s missed is that solely chasing a lower number on the scale won’t necessarily make you look better, feel better or be healthier. A more appropriate balance of fat and lean mass is a much better goal. Unfortunately it’s also harder work and a therefore a harder sell.

      #FitFamilyFriday

Leave a Reply

