Going all in at Saturday gymnastics

Saturday morning is gymnastics time for my eldest and I love taking her.

P is not the biggest five year old you will meet, quite the opposite. She was never destined to be big – I’m 5′ 10″ and my wife is 5′ 1 1/2″ (don’t forget the 1/2!). Sorry P, I know this is a source of frustration for you but there’s little we could do. Actually, you could try sleeping more, but that’s for another day.

The point I am slowly making is that it is very apparent when she lines up at gymnastics that she’s smaller than her peers.

She makes up for this in enthusiasm.

When the teacher says run some of the other children do so in a lacklustre it’s-too-early-on-a-Saturday way. P RUNS. When it’s time to skip she SKIPS. And so it continues all through the class.

It makes me realise what is great about this kid: she does everything at 100%. When she’s happy or excited she’s 100% in. Of course she’s exactly the same way in her less attractive behaviour, which can be spectacularly bad, but that’s the price we pay for her being awesome when she’s awesome.

P, I love ya, don’t change. Keep going all in.

Linking up:

image

Family Friday
7 thoughts on “Going all in at Saturday gymnastics

  1. Love the quip about sleeping more! I have to say that I find that the smaller kids are generally the more enthusiastic ones – Grace is one of the tall ones and even though she tries and is excited, the smaller ones are bigger balls of excitement! Keep it up your P 🙂 Thank you for linking to PoCoLo.

Leave a Reply

