Current training – July 2013

I’ve shifted back to more gymnastics/bodyweight exercises this month. I enjoy pressing kettlebells for a couple of months a year but most of my dream moves are gymnastic-based so that style of training always draws me back.

I’m also running more. I am getting very close to a running goal – 5km in 25 minutes keeping my heart rate in my aerobic zone. I’m close but need to run more often to get there.

The main exercise I have kept from last month is the deadlift, which I’ve never really trained before and am loving. I am currently strapping weight plates to kettlebells to do the lift which is far from ideal – it is both unwieldy and not actually very heavy (about 65kg max).

This is leading me to try to answer to two questions:

  1. Do I have space to store a barbell?
  2. Can I sneak one into the house without my wife noticing?

We shall see. Anyway, this is what my week looks like. It’s very structured towards the start and gets more random on Thursday and Friday.

Saturday – rest

Sunday – home

  • Warm up – Becoming Bulletproof, wrist routine, shoulder band work
  • A1: L-seat – 3 x 15
  • A2: Bar hang – pull up/chin up/arch hang
  • B1: Handstand & elbow lever practice
  • C1: KB deadlift, 48-65kg – 10-15 reps (sets vary)
  • D1: Ring dips – 3 x 5-8
  • D2: Rope climb – 3
  • E1: Farmers walk – 24-28kg each hand
Monday – easy run 5-6km
Tuesday – home
  • Warm up – Becoming Bulletproof, wrist routine, shoulder band work
  • A1: L-seat –  3 x 15
  • A2: Bar hang – pull up/chin up/arch hang
  • B1: Handstand & elbow lever practice
  • C1: KB deadlift, 48-65kg – 10-15 reps (sets vary)
  • D1: Ring dips – 1 x 5-8, Muscle up-german hang x 3-5/20, ring routine x 2
  • D2: Close grip chin up – 1 x 5/8, n/a, n/a
  • E1: Farmers walk – 24-28kg each hand

Wednesday – easy run at lunchtime 3-4km

Thursday – running, swimming

  • One of:
    • Run in the morning, swim in the afternoon
    • Run with dips, push ups, rows, pull ups etc in the park
    • Just a run
    • Just a swim

Friday – various

  • Depends on Thursday, the week, sleep and what I feel I need more of
  • One of:
    • Run (if I didn’t on Thursday)
    • Handstand stuff
    • Or just rolling/crawling/stretching if I need the rest
Leave a Reply

