Current training – October 2012

My muscle up and dip training is going well. I can now do muscle ups from a dead hang, rather than bent arms, which is a massive step forward.

Things aren’t going exactly as planned (they never do!). So I’ve made a couple of changes:

  • RTO dips in a hollow are phenomenally hard so I’ve backed off to normal ring dips, but keeping the hollow. I’ll build some reps there before moving on.
  • My elbows don’t like training muscle ups twice a week. I’ve switched to a two week cycle that includes a day off from all ring work every fortnight. I’m also going to start doing some reverse plate curls as I think my elbows may be aching partially because I’m working my wrists super-hard in flexion but doing nothing the other way.

On the non-ring days I’ve added a bit of planche play. This may seem like an odd exercise to add in if my elbows are feeling tweaky, but it is very much play and kept very light.

I’m now using 30 second holds both my low l-sit and tuck front lever, which is my target time before moving up in difficulty. I’ve only just got these so I’ll stay with those variations for one session a week and will move to l-sit on the floor and advanced tuck front lever once a week.

The other big change to the introduction of judo training. Only one class so far but I am loving it.

The class is quite demanding so I’m counting it as if it’s a weights session and have dropped gym workouts to twice a week.

Here’s what it looks like:

Week 1

 Tuesday – Judo

Thursday

  • A1: L-sit on floor – 2 x 20sec
  • A2: Tuck back level – 2 x 20sec
  • A3: Tuck front lever – 2 x 30sec
  • B1: Handstand practice
  • C1: Ring dip w/ hollow – 3 x 5
  • C2: 28kg KB swing – 3 x 10-15
  • D1: Rope climb/powerclub circuit
  • E1: Reverse plate curls

Friday – Slow run

Sunday

  • A1: Low l-sit – 2 x 30sec
  • A2: German hang – 1 x 30sec
  • B1: Handstand practice
  • C1: Muscle up – 3 x 3-5
  • C2: 24kg KB swing – 3 x 12-20
  • D1: Reverse plate curls

Week 2

Tuesday – Judo

Thursday

  • A1: L-sit on floor – 2 x 20sec
  • A2: Tuck back level – 2 x 20sec
  • A3: Tuck front lever – 2 x 30sec
  • B1: Handstand practice
  • C1: Muscle up to Ring dip w/ hollow – 3 x 2-3 (MU) to 2-3 (dip)
  • C2: 28kg KB swing – 3 x 10-15
  • D1: Rope climb/powerclub circuit
  • E1: Reverse plate curls

Friday – Slow run

Sunday

  • A1: Low l-sit – 2 x 30sec
  • A2: German hang – 1 x 30sec
  • B1: Handstand practice
  • C1: Planche play – 4 x 10-30sec
  • C2: Adv tuck front lever – 4 x 5sec
  • C3: 24kg KB swing – 4 x 12-20
  • D1: Rope climb
  • E1: Reverse plate curls

 

Leave a Reply

