It’s only a foot injury, right?

My left ankle is still a bit of a state. It’s not as painful as it was but I still need crutches to help get around. Obviously this injury will force me to rethink my approach to exercise. Everything apart from that ankle is fine though so there is no need to stop altogether, I just need to change focus.

Pistols are out for a long while. In theory I could train my right leg but it is already slightly ahead of the left and I don’t want to make the imbalance worse.

Handstands are also out for a while because of the kick up/down, it’s too risky. Push ups are a problem as they will put some pressure on my bad ankle. Finally, back levers make me a little nervous in case I drop out of the hold and need to catch my self.

So pretty much everything I had been gunning for is now a no go. Instead I’ll focus on pull/chin ups with an aim to increase total and also weighted versions (weighted only when my ankle feels a little stronger). I’ll offset these with dips initially as they in no way involve the foot and then push ups as I recover.

Given the way I injured myself, I think lots of grip work is a good idea as well!

I kicked off with this workout. The meat of it was alternating between sets of pull ups and dips in a descending ladder. I followed this up with a few chin ups for some extra pulling volume and then some grip stuff.

Joint mobility

Pull ups – 2 x 5,4,3,2,1
Dips – 2 x 5,4,3,2,1

Chin ups – 5,5,5,3,3,3

One arm hang – 13/13,10,10,10/10,8/8 sec R/L

Plate wrist curl, 5kg – 3 x 10R/10L

PG200 – 6 x 3R/3L

Leave a Reply

