Applying fitness and a strength day

There are many different motivations for getting fit. It could be strength, fat loss, endurance, bigger arms, mega pecs, all of the above, or something else entirely. Some of these are more admirable than others (but that’s not for here) but there is always a reason of some sort. I’d be amazed if anyone started a fitness programme because they couldn’t think of anything else to do with their spare time. For me it is strength, endurance and to learn cool bodyweight and grip feats.

Once a certain level of progress is met (ie stairs are no longer an issue or THAT dress fits again), it becomes more difficult to measure your fitness in real terms. It can just become about numbers, distance or weight which is great in the gym but does that mean anything elsewhere?

It is for this reason I like to have a non-gym physical activity as a way of testing if my fitness can be applied outside of the gym while also learning some new skills.

For a long time my non-gym activity was martial arts but I took a break from that earlier this year. Now I feel like trying something different have started bouldering, a style of climbing done to low heights with no ropes. It seemed a great fit with the bodyweight exercise I do. I went to my first session on Monday and it was great fun. I highly recommend it, or at least some non-gym activity – get out and use it.

Right, on with the workouts. A few changes to my strength workout last night. I’ve pushed the reps down and the weights up in a few exercises.


Joint mobility
L-sit – 2 x 12sec
HeSPU x 3
HS – 2 x 30sec
Assisted pistol – 3/3
Adv tuck back lever – 2 x 12sec
Assisted pistol – 3/3
Adv tuck front lever – 2 x 12sec
Assisted pistol – 3/3

Weighted ring dip, 3.5kg – 5, 5kg – 5,5
One arm row, 24kg – 5R/5L,5R/5L,5R/5L
GHR – 5,5,5

One leg hip thrust – 20R/20L

Plate curl, 8kg – 5R/5L,4R/4L
Two hand pinch, 37.5kg – 4 x 10sec
One arm hang – 10,12,12sec R/L
Leave a Reply

