Grease the groove and pull, pull, pull

During the day – HeSPU – 3 x 3

I’ve started a grease the groove (GTG) experiment with headstand push ups. For those that don’t know, GTG involves scattering individual sets of an exercise throughout the day, keeping well away from failure each time. The idea is that you teach your muscles to get better at a lift by frequently practicing a movement when fresh. This technique was popularised in Pavel’s excellent book, The Naked Warrior.

Why am I doing this? I really want to do a HeSPU but don’t want to give up all the other fun stuff. I got close a while back but had my hands quite far apart, making it easier. The end goal is to them freestanding so I have to it with my hands the same width they are for handstands (which is closer, and harder).

Will end up in overtrained hell? Im sure quite a few people would say that this ontop of everything else is too much. I say, maybe. I’m going to manage the volume by reducing pressing work in my evening workouts and/or stopping GTG work at lunchtime if I know I’m pressing in the evening. So to kick things off, hardly any pressing tonight, it was a pull-fest.

Joint mobility
Ring row – 8,8,8
20kg KB goblet squat – 5,5,5
Pull up – 1,2,3,4,1,2,3,1,2,3,1,2,3,1,2,3,2 = 36

20kg KB swing/snatch/jerk – 5 x 5R/5L
KB alt dead clean – 24kg x 30, 20kg x 30, 24kg x 20, 20kg x 20, 24kg x 10, 20kg x 10

Leave a Reply

