A change in direction

I’ve been following Pavel’s Enter the Kettlebell for the past three months and have seen good results with it but I keep getting distracted by the idea of certain gymnastic moves. Watching the gymnstics world championship this weekend made me think about what I do for exercise. In short, do I care about pressing a ridiculously heavy kettlebell over my head? It would be impressive but no, not really. Do I care about being able to do a handstand, a planche of a handstand push up? Yes, definitely. With that in mind I started to think about changing what I do so I am more focussed on those things.

I’ll have three workouts per week. One focussing on gymnasic static holds, one on dynamic movements to supplement the statics and one full kettlebell session (focussing on long cycle clean & jerk (LCCJ) to start) plus a few odd bits added in here and there. I’ll be following some progressions from Gymnastic Bodies and have taken some ideas from Natural Messiah regarding workout formulation.

I did my first static workout last night and it looked this:

Circuit 1 (three rounds)

Frog planche – 28/20/22 sec

Tuck front lever – 15/24/20 sec

Circuit 2 (three rounds)

Wall assisted handstand 30/30/40 sec

L-seat – 10/15/15 sec

Wrestlers bridge – 30/40/40 sec

Kettlebells to finish

24kg – clean x 5 + front squat x 1 (r,l) @ TOM for 6 mins

16kg – Hand 2 hand swing x 50

It felt good and was great fun. Will it make me elite at anything? Probably not, but that’s not my intention. I enjoyed it far more than the endless pressing (I had started to avoid those workouts) and will therefore carry on doing it.

 

I did a little extra something just before lunch today, this was all with a 16kg kettlebell.

RH swing x 10, LH swing x 10, RH snatch x 10, LH snatch x 10, RH clean x 10, RH jerk x 10, LH clean x 10, LH jerk x 10, Pushups x 10, RH row x 5, LH row x 5

100 reps in total, only putting the bell down for the pushups. It got my heart rate going and was taxing but not too hard. I’ll carry on doing things like this on off days I think but I’ll substitute high pulls for the pushups and rows, I’ll start timing it as well.

Leave a Reply

